Mini-haul: Wet n Wild MegaLast Matte lipsticks: Just Peachy and Smokin’ Hot Pink

My local Kmart put out several new displays of Wet n Wild lipsticks, eye shadows and nail polish. The MegaLast lipsticks ($2.99) caught my eye and I picked up two of the shades.

Now, I was already a fan of Wet n Wild’s other lipstick lines – Silk Finish and MegaColors – so I expected to like their new MegaLast line and, not surprisingly, I was not disappointed.

Wet n Wild describes the MegaLast lipstick as a:

4-hour, longwearing lip color [that] leaves a semi-matte, crème finish in one stroke. Glides on easily with rich, velvety color that doesn’t cake, feather, or bleed. Made with hydrating skin-care ingredients: Hyaluronic Microspheres provide extraordinary adhesion to lips, an exclusive polymer complex offers cushion-like feel and texture, and natural marine plant extracts Coenzyme Q10 and Vitamins A & E help smooth lips.

I would say that’s a fairly accurate description. These lipsticks are crazy pigmented! One stroke does give my lips full coverage, and the finish falls somewhere between flat matte and a creme finish. Both of the shades I own contain no shimmer whatsoever, something I love and find refreshing in a drugstore sea of frosty, shimmery lip colors.

The shape of the actual lipstick is also something I love. The MegaLasts don’t have a pointy slanted tip like conventional lipsticks. Rather, their surface is flat across the top like lip balms. I know that that may not appeal to some, but I always like to wear the pointy tips on my lipsticks down until they’re flat. Personally, I find them easier to apply that way.

And another big plus: these lipstick have no scent/flavor. I’m always eating or snacking, so I hate when the taste or smell of a lipstick interferes with my food.

I would have to disagree,however, that the MegaLasts glide on easily and are moisturizing. As a person with very dry skin, I’m always on the lookout for moisturizing lip products and I have to say that the MegaLasts are not the moisturizing lipsticks Wet n Wild would have you believe. The texture is somewhat on the dry side and the first time I applied it to my bare lips I did experience some slight tugging. Now I don’t know if my experience is typical or if it has to do with my dry skin type, but I would definitely recommend applying a dry, waxy, non-slippery balm (like Burt’s Bees) on your lips before applying the MegaLast; it just helps the lipsticks glide on more easily.

I actually don’t mind the texture and think that its dryness works to my advantage. I feel that if it were actually a hydrating lipstick, that its pigmentation and lasting power would be compromised. For example, one of my favorite drugstore lipstick lines is Maybelline Moisture Extreme which claims to be hydrating. I find that to be true; the Moisture Extremes feel like a very moisturizing lip balm. However, because they’re so balm-like, the texture is slippery and thinner, the pigmentation isn’t very strong, and the product vanishes from my lips very quickly. The MegaLasts, in contrast, are drier so they cling and stay on the lips much longer, and they’re more concentrated in color.

As for the colors, they’re gorgeous! The colors include pale nudes, girly pinks, bright reds, vampy purple, peach, mauve, and neutral shades. Basically a shade for everyone.

The two shades I picked are 903C Just Peachy and 905D Smokin’ Hot Pink. Most of the time I can’t do peachy shades. In general, they clash with my yellow toned Asian skin and look too brown or too orange. However, Just Peachy is a very pinky peach which, thankfully, makes it very wearable for me. Smokin’ Hot Pink is a bright hot pink as you would expect. If I were a bit more bold I’d wear it in public at full strength, but I prefer to lightly dot it onto my lips and wear it as a stain, topped with clear gloss. As I said earlier, these are very pigmented, intense colors.

Thumbs up on the new black packaging, which I think is very sleek and more expensive looking compared to Wet n Wild’s old silver/gray packaging. My only complaints are:

  1. the names of the lipsticks are only printed on the plastic shrink wrap. Once you rip it off, you’re only left with the shade number on the bottom of the lipstick.
  2. the MegaLasts, like all of Wet n Wild’s lipsticks, don’t twist all the way down into the tube. I’ve nicked my lipsticks with their plastic caps a few times already. Ugh.

Wet n Wild’s new products are slowly popping up everywhere so if you happen to see them I would definitely recommend checking out the MegaLast lipsticks. They have a decent range of shades and, for the quality, the price can’t be beat!

One thought on “Mini-haul: Wet n Wild MegaLast Matte lipsticks: Just Peachy and Smokin’ Hot Pink

  1. Pingback: May Favorites « Mimsy's Blog

Comments are closed.