Nomnomnom

I wanted to post these over the weekend when I first made them but the camera battery was dying, I had to recharge, and then I forgot to upload the pictures.

I followed the recipes from The America’s Test Kitchen Family Baking Book. I simply love Cook’s Illustrated/ATK; their recipes always turn out so well for me. Their oven temperature seems to be calibrated the same way mine is, so that the cooking times and temps always work out really well for me. If they say cook for 10 minutes, I really do need to cook for exactly 10 minutes. No more, no less. They’ve got it down to an exact science. Other recipes I’ve tried have been really off for me; I’d either have to add or subtract minutes from the cooking time, or increase/decrease the oven temp. — just lots of adjusting and frustration.

The recipes I attempted were the ones for the Stuffed French Toast and the Breakfast Strata with Spinach and Gruyere. I didn’t have any Gruyere on hand, so I simply substituted Sharp White Cheddar and it still came out really yummy. Both recipes were a success, if I do say so myself. They looked good and they tasted good as well.

The french toast is stuffed with a mixture of cream cheese and cinnamon sugar. I got the sausages from the supermarket…a whole pack for only $0.80. No, it hadn’t expired; it was the “manager’s special” of the day. There were other packs of sausage but they were all priced at $3.00. Awesome deal (and they tasted good too)! The empty spot on the plate is for a slice of strata; I was waiting for it to cool slightly before I sliced into it.

Behold the yumminess!

Stuffed French Toast

Stuffed French Toast

Breakfast Strata with Spinach and Cheddar

Breakfast Strata with Spinach and Cheddar

