Home and Garden

Just a quick drive-by to share some goodies that came out of the garden and the oven.

Deep Dish Apple Pie

Deep Dish Apple Pie

First, an attempt at America’s Test Kitchen recipe for Deep Dish Apple Pie. Honestly, although it looks really good — very rustic (I call it “rustic” since I can’t crimp pie crusts to save my life) and lovely — I’m pretty disappointed with how the pie turned out. America’s Test Kitchen/Cook’s Illustrated recipes usually work out really well for me but this one just didn’t impress me. I thought I followed the recipe to the letter but the pie came out extremely tart and really runny with juices on the inside. It definitely needed more sugar and more of a thickening agent. I’m not sure what went wrong but I doubt that I’ll try it again since ATK/CI recipes are typically very involved, specific and time consuming. I’m not abandoning them but I think I’ll be looking for another apple pie recipe elsewhere.

I was much more pleased by these:

Home grown spuds

Home grown spuds

Potatoes? What’s so exciting about them, you ask? Well, first of all, I didn’t plan on growing potatoes at all. I attempted to start a compost heap that I never got around to finishing. Basically, it was a pile of dirt onto which I ended up throwing some Russet potato skins. Fast forward several months while I was gardening and digging through the dirt. At first I thought they were rocks, but they were much too round and smooth looking to be rocks. Unbeknownst to me, I had had a crop of potatoes growing in my backyard for all those months.

They are the cutest little things. Most of them are the size of quail eggs. The biggest one there is about the size of a golf ball.

I did end up boiling and eating them, and they were simply the most buttery smooth potatoes I have EVER had. For so little work (actually NO labor at all), I ended up getting a delicious treat from the earth.

I can’t wait until next year’s crop. I’m just going to go into my backyard and sprinkle potato skins everywhere. Hmm, I wonder if sweet potato skins would work too?

