New York Color Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm – Apple Blossom

N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm – Apple Blossom

I’d planned on giving an in-depth review on the new N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm but that’s not going to happen now.

I was a huge fan of N.Y.C.’s discontinued Lip Sliders tinted lip balms. Full of natural oils and butters, extremely moisturizing, very thick and creamy but unsticky, they’re still the best lip balms I’ve ever come across and I stocked up before they were pulled from store shelves. It’s perfect as an overnight lip treatment because I can apply some to my lips at night and know that it’ll still be there when I wake up in the morning. The next day, a simple rinse and gentle scrub with a towel and all the dry lip skin just sloughs off leaving behind smooth, soft lips. The subtle cotton candy scent didn’t hurt either.

So when N.Y.C. announced the launch of a new range of lip balms I was super excited. Could they possibly be the Lip Sliders repackaged in stick form? Answer: no. The texture is a lot thinner/more slippery and it doesn’t contain nearly as many butters and oils as the Lip Sliders. In addition, the Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm is strongly scented. My personal lip balm preference is unscented but I can handle foody/bakery/vanilla scents. What I can’t deal with though is floral or fruity fragrances, and the Applelicious lip balm that I own in Apple Blossom is very fruity with, in my opinion, a synthetic cherry + apple scent, not Jolly Ranchers Apple as I’ve heard from some people.

Apple Blossom is a sheer reddish pink with a glossy, slightly pearlescent finish. It consists of a pearlescent light pink inner core and a shimmer-free red outer ring.

I’m sorry but I can’t comment on wear or longevity. The fruity scent I got from swatching it on my arm was enough to deter me from trying it on my lips. I just couldn’t get past the fruitiness.

I purchased the N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm in Apple Blossom from CVS for $3.99.

N.Y.C. Lip Sliders Ingredients: hydrogenated polyisobutene, tridecyl trimellitate, microcrystalline wax (cera microcristallina), octyldodecanol, ricinus communis (Castor) Seed Oil (Ricinus Communis), Flavor (aroma), tocopheryl acetate, Retinyl Palmitate, Simmondsia Chinensis (Jojoba) Seed Oil (Simmondsia Chinensis), Olea Europaea (Olive) Fruit Oil (Olea Europaea), Hydrogenated Olive Oil, Hydrogenated Grapeseed Oil, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter (Theobroma Cacao), Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea Butter)(Butyrospermum Parkii), Hydrogenated Avocado Oil, Mangifera Indica (Mango) Seed Butter (Mangifera Indica), Astrocaryum Murumuru Seed Butter (Astrocaryum Murumuru), Sodium Saccharin, Mica, Silica, Anise Alcohol, Benzyl Benzoate, BHT, Phenoxyethanol, Methylparaben, Ethylparaben, Propylparaben. May contain: Iron Oxides (CI 77489, CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Red 6 Lake (CI 15850), Red 7 Lake (CI 15850), Red 33 Lake (CI 17200), Yellow 5 Lake (CI 19140), Yellow 6 Lake (CI 15985), Blue 1 Lake (CI 42090).

Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm Ingredients: lanolin oil, octyldodecanol, pentaerythrityl tetraisostearate, pentaerythrityl tetracaprylate/caprate, ricinus communis (castor) seed oil, polyethylene, microcristallina cera/microcrystalline wax/cire microcristaline, paraffin, C12-15 alkyl benzoate, caprylic/capric triglyercide, sucrose acetate isobutyrate, butyrospermum parkii (shea) butter, simmondsia chinensis (jojoba) seed oil, nylon-12, candelilla cera/euphorbia cerifera (candelilla) wax/cire de candelilla, silica, copernicia cerifera cera/copernicia cerifera (carnauba) wax/cire de carnauba, butylene glycol, persea gratissima (avocado) oil, parfum/fragrance, tocopheryl acetate, panthenyl ethyl ether, calcium aluminum borosilicate, (CI 77891), mica, iron oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492), carmine (CI 75470), D&C Red No. 30 (CI 73360), D&C Red No. 6 (CI 15850), FD&C Yellow No. 5 Aluminum Lake (CI 19140), FD&C Yellow No. 6 Aluminum Lake (CL 15985), D&C Red No. 7 Calcium Lake (CI 15850), FD&C Blue No. 1 Aluminum Lake (CL 42090)

N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm – Apple Blossom

N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm – Apple Blossom

N.Y.C. Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm – Apple Blossom: 1 swipe, 5 swipes

About Carol
Hi, I'm a self-confessed homebody and beauty addict. You'll often find me tapping away at the computer, surfing the net, playing pc games, or tucked under a cozy blanket on the couch, watching tv with a pile of paperbacks beside me.

2 Responses to New York Color Applelicious Glossy Lip Balm – Apple Blossom

  1. Sherry says:

    Thank you for this review. I thought about trying this lip gloss but couldn’t find the “whole” ingredient list on the manufacturer’s website, only their “key ingredients.” After seeing your review and the ingredient list, I’m crossing this one off my list. Thank you for saving me some money!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 70 other followers

