Pixi Correction Concentrate – Brightening Peach

I’m always on the lookout for correctors and concealers because I’ve had darkness around my eyes (on the eyelids and under-eye area) for as long as I can remember. I would say that my circles are hereditary except my mother, father, and sister don’t have dark circles. Me, I’ve had mine since elementary school, and they’ve gotten worse as I’ve gotten older.

I remember that when I was a senior in high school one of my friends asked me for advice about eye shadows because she liked the one I wore all the time. That came as a surprise because back then I wasn’t allowed to wear makeup. Apparently, she and the rest of my friends all thought I’d been wearing a brown smoky eye since junior high; in other words, the past 8 years! Yikes! That’s when you know your dark circles are bad.

Ever since then — it’s been about 12 years now — I’ve been all about finding an inexpensive but effective corrector/concealer. This brings me to the Pixi Correction Concentrate which I recently purchased from Target. 

The Pixi Correction Concentrate has been on my wish list ever since I first learned about it. It only comes in one shade, Brightening Peach, which is supposed to be great for neutralizing dark circles.

As far as I know, the only brick and mortar store that carries the Pixi makeup line is Target, and it costs $15 for a 3 g/0.10 oz glass jar there. You can buy it online from Target, and I also saw it on zappos.com.

If you’re interested in this corrector I suggest taking yourself down to your local Target store because they have testers available for the Pixi Correction Concentrate. Don’t purchase it sight unseen or untested. I say this because you might be surprised (or put off) by the consistency of this product if you don’t try it out beforehand.

The texture of the Pixi Correction Concentrate is a very thick, dense cream. I’ve never tried Benefit’s Erase Paste but I think “paste” is an excellent word to describe this Pixi product as well. I definitely recommend using your fingers to apply this product just because it’s so thick. The body heat from the fingertips helps warm up the product and make it easier to spread and smooth over the skin.

Another important reason to check this product out in person is color. Brightening Peach is peach all right but actually a lot more pink than I had expected. That works out pretty well for me because my circles are on the brownish side and I’ve learned from experience that pinker or more salmon-colored correctors seem to neutralize my circles better. So if you’re looking for a true peach corrector this product might not be for you.

I’ve done swatches of all the concealers that are currently in my stash. Most of the ones I own I no longer use because of lack of pigmentation, cakiness or color issues (i.e. the Jane concealer is much too dark for me) and I’ll be passing them along to my sister who has extremely oily skin and minor dark circles.

Clockwise From Top: wet n wild Beauty Benefits Color CorRx (21011 Neutral), Revlon Beyond Natural (Light Medium), Revlon Age Defying (Light Medium), Cover Girl CG Smoothers (Light), Jane No Show (03 Light Medium), Neutrogena 3 in 1 Concealer for Eyes (Light), Maybelline Instant Age Rewind (Light), Maybelline Mineral Power (Cream), Maybelline Dream Mousse (Cream).
Center: Pixi Correction Concentrate (Brightening Peach)

For my dry skin and circles, I really like the Revlon Age Defying and CG Smoothers concealers, and the Pixi Correction Concentrate now joins the ranks as one of my favorites, too.

My circles are mostly brown but the inner corners are a little more purplish. I’ve tried using yellow-colored correctors but they make my circles look extremely gray, and I’ve also tried purple/lavender-colored correctors in an attempt to brighten my under-eye darkness but that was all sorts of wrong on me. Salmon and pink correctors/concealers seem to work better for me. I also have “chicken skin,” a textural skin issue, in my under-eye area that causes it to look a little bumpy.

Bare eyes

Corrector on left under-eye (your left-hand side) only. Right side is bare.

I look cross-eyed in this photo because I was looking at the camera’s view screen trying to make sure I was in focus when the shot was taken :P I think my lids look really good in this picture. They usually look very brown but I haven’t been doing anything different lately skincare-wise. Hmm…I wonder what’s up with that?

Corrector on left under-eye (your left-hand side) only. Right side is bare.

Corrector on both left and right under-eye area.

This is how the Pixi Correction Concentrate looks close up. I think it looks much better and a lot more natural than the Maybelline Dream Mousse concealer.

The packaging says that this corrector can be used as a “full cover camouflage” but, in my experience, I would have to disagree. I think it does a terrific job at neutralizing and brightening up most of the darkness under my eyes but I wasn’t able to achieve full coverage. I’d say it covered approximately 80% of my dark circles without making it look gray/ashy or cakey. That’s a lot more than can be said of other correctors/concealers I’ve tried for my under-eye area.

I used 3 thin layers of the product on my under-eye area. I gently swirled my ring finger on the surface of the corrector to pick up a little bit of product, then lightly patted the product onto my under-eye area with that same finger. I let it sit on my face first for a few seconds to warm up further and then proceeded to pat/blend it into my skin. Then I repeated the process two more times to achieve the coverage you see in the photos. It manages to correct/conceal the majority of the darkness but still looks like my skin. If I want full coverage, I would just layer my Revlon Age Defying concealer over it. The Revlon concealer only has medium coverage but since the Pixi corrector neutralizes most of the darkness I’d only need a little bit of extra coverage to cancel out my circles completely. However, for the purposes of this review I only showed the Pixi corrector in action alone.

I suspect that this product may not be so great for people with oily skin since it’s petroleum-based and it’ll probably slip and slide around on that skin type, especially if you don’t set it.

I’ve said before that for my dry/very dry skin I prefer correctors/concealers that have a dewy finish, and by that I mean a slightly moist appearance (like freshly moisturized skin). Correctors/concealers with matte finishes look terrible on me — cakey and unnatural. The Pixi Correction Concentrate definitely doesn’t have a matte finish but a slight dewy glossiness to it which I really like. In addition, it never fully dries down and remains slightly tacky to the touch. Nonetheless, I prefer not to set my under-eye correctors/concealers with powder because I like to preserve their dewy finish. I chose not to set the Pixi corrector either and I didn’t experience any creasing.

Overall, even though the Pixi Correction Concentrate doesn’t completely annihilate my dark circles I still really like it. I think this product would work very well on others with dry skin like mine, and brilliantly on people with less severe dark circles. I highly recommend checking this product out in person before purchase because the texture and color may not be ideal for everyone. It’s a bit expensive for the drugstore but since the product’s so dense, and a little goes a long way, the jar should last for a long time.

About Carol
Hi, I'm a self-confessed homebody and beauty addict. You'll often find me tapping away at the computer, surfing the net, playing pc games, or tucked under a cozy blanket on the couch, watching tv with a pile of paperbacks beside me.

2 Responses to Pixi Correction Concentrate – Brightening Peach

  1. Angelica says:

    >Thanks so much for the detailed review, I've been curious to try it ever since I saw it on your wishlist. :)I picked up the Skinfood Salmon Concealer this month to try to fix my own dark circles.

  2. Mimsy says:

    >You're welcome :)You have to let me know what you think about the Skinfood Salmon Concealer. I've been thinking about getting it, too.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 62 other followers

