Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balm swatches

Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balms

Last month I purchased two of the Palladio lip balms in the shades Orange and Brownie and they impressed me so much I ended up collecting the entire range of colors.

I’ve been trying out a lot of tinted lip balms lately and consider the Palladio lip balms as some of my favorites. They’re not as moisturizing or thick and, consequently, not as long lasting as my beloved NYC Lip Sliders Tinted Lip Balms, but they don’t dry out my lips like the Korres lip butters. The Palladio balms are very creamy smooth and not waxy, sticky, or greasy in texture. And they have good color payoff, especially the darker shades.

I can’t detect any taste/flavor in these products. There is a very slight scent but it’s not unpleasant. Funnily enough, it doesn’t have an herbal or medicinal scent as one would expect an “Herbal Tinted Lip Balm” to possess. Personally, I think they have a soft sugar scent, like the hard candy coating on the outside of Jordan almonds.

Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balms

Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balms

The nine available Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balm shades are: Champagne, Cotton Candy, Golden Pink, Bronzy Pink, Naturally Bronze*, Orange, Berry, Rosey, and Brownie.

I can say without any doubt that, out of the nine colors, Rosey is the most pigmented. Forget tinted lip balm, Rosey could probably pass as a moisturizing lipstick. One swipe is all I need to get really good color payoff.

*There seems to be some discrepancy between the shade names listed on the Palladio website and the shade names that appear on the actual tubes. Palladio’s site lists Natural Bronze but the tube reads Naturally Bronze.

As far as I can tell, Brownie, Berry and Rosey are the only non-shimmery (or minimal to almost non-existant shimmer) shades. It’s a bit hard to tell. With these three shades, sometimes I don’t think they have any shimmer but then there’ll be a change in lighting and then I think perhaps they might have a microscopic amount of shimmer.

There’s no question about the other six shades though; they definitely have shimmer to varying degrees. But not gritty or obnoxious shimmer. Orange contains shimmer but on the lips can pass as a non-shimmer shade, and has far less shimmer than Golden Pink, for example. As someone who’s repulsed by frosty and super shimmery colors, none of the Palladio lip balm colors make me want to hurl.

I would say that the lasting power of the Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balms could be a lot better but, overall, they’re sufficiently moisturizing and all very wearable shades with a nice texture, finish, and moderate to great pigmentation (depending on the shade).

Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balms

Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balms

These were all purchased by me, not all at once but over the course of several months, at Duane Reade for $4 each. As with all my beauty buys, whenever possible, I always use coupons and take advantage of sales.

About Carol
Hi, I'm a self-confessed homebody and beauty addict. You'll often find me tapping away at the computer, surfing the net, playing pc games, or tucked under a cozy blanket on the couch, watching tv with a pile of paperbacks beside me.

3 Responses to Palladio Herbal Tinted Lip Balm swatches

  1. Pingback: Palladio Herbal Lip Gloss – Mocha Cream « Mimsy's Blog

  2. Pingback: June Favorites « Mimsy's Blog

  3. Pingback: May Favorites « Mimsy's Blog

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 69 other followers

